Thomson Reuters
Markush Structures

CHEMICAL STRUCTURES HIDDEN IN PATENTS
MARKUSH DATA IN DERWENT WORLD PATENTS INDEX WITH CHEMAXON SOFTWARE
A SPECIAL WEBINAR OFFERED BY THOMSON REUTERS

Join us for an informative webinar on how to find patents containing specific and Markush chemical structures that you or your competitors have patented.

Register below for the session that best suits your schedule.

Session 1:

Friday, January 27, 2012
1:00 p.m. EST / 6:00 p.m. GMT

Register Now

Session 2:

Tuesday, January 31, 2012
9:00 a.m. EST / 2:00 p.m. GMT

Register Now

SESSION ABSTRACT

Patents sometimes mention chemical structures explicitly (e.g., Amoxicillin) and sometimes only implicitly (e.g., "A compound having the formula I, where R1 = A, B, C, …, R2 = X, Y, Z, …," etc.). The latter type of disclosure, called a Markush structure, may protect your compound without explicitly mentioning it.

Furthermore, a Markush may cover an astronomical number of structures, only a few of which might lead to your application. We will demonstrate how you can find both specific chemical structures and Markush structures in patents, how to find those patents which disclose your structure for a given application and suggest convenient ways in which these structures can be explored in your research. This information can be used for research, patentability, freedom to operate, patent defense and other critical decisions.

Please note: This webinar is reserved for current users and those considering the solution, and attendance may be restricted.